New Year…New You?

December 27, 2007

The new year’s almost upon us. In just a few days we’re all going to usher in the New Year with millions of resolutions and promises to ourselves and loved ones that very few of us ever keep. I’ll give you the perfect example: for almost a full 6 years I was a smoker. Yes, I was a smoker. And every year for those 6 years I made a resolution to quit. Every year came and went and I was still inhaling dozens of chemicals dozens of times a day. I told my wife at the time that I really wanted to quit but I must admit that most of it was just to get her off my back. Not until my daughter was born did quitting smoking become real to me.

I remember visiting Myrical’s pediatrician (yes, that’s her real name and she’s the most beautiful soon-to-be 8 year old on the planet) for a wellness visit and her asking me if I smoked. My answer, of course, was “Yes, I do smoke.” Now remember folks, at the time I was a Special Operations Medic in the military. I was supposed to know the negative effects of smoking (I did) and know better than to smoke at all. However, I found every excuse in the book, and some not in the book, to not quit. Until that day, that is. My daughter’s doctor told me how I was affecting Myrical’s life. That even if I smoked outside my clothes would still carry multiple carcinogens and potentially harm my daughter. “Nuff said.”

I quit that very day and I’ve not had one cigarette since. Yes, I have smoked the occasional celabratory cigar, but never another cigarette. You see, what I needed was a real reason to quit. I needed something to motivate me from the inside. Once that happened there was nothing in the world that could get in the way of me quitting.

My advice to any and all readers out there is to identify what it is you really want to committ yourselves to in the gym. What’s real and what’s all talk? Some of you may want a complete overhaul of your appearance. Others may want to compete in a triathalon. There are so many potential goals out there that I simply cannot list them all. What I’m saying is: decide what it is that you really want to achieve and set goals to achieve it. Maybe take a picture of what you used to look like or a picture of someone that you’d want to look like and put it somewhere that you know you’ll see it every single day. Set yourself short, medium, and long term goals in order to achieve your ultimate goal.

Get with one of the trainers and ask them if they know of any motivational techniques (read tricks) that can help you along the way. Try something new like a spin class or a few sessions with a trainer to give yourself a kickstart into the New Year. Whatever your goals may be, they are all achievable, if you simply believe in yourself enough and take action. I hope you all had a very Merry Christmas and I wish you all the very best the New Year has to offer! See you in 2008!

Leave a Reply

